MUSING

I Hate Labels

For the record, I hate labels.

They seek to confine an individual. Labels come with roles and expectations- not necessarily rights. Labels are useful in a society where individuals need laws and rules to function. They help us understand how to treat other individuals.

 

Labels enforce prejudice and discrimination. Hence, I don’t want it.

I don’t want to be tagged as anything.

I don’t want to be stereotyped, pigeon-holed- put in a box.

I don’t want to identify as anything. I just want to be seen as a human.

I don’t want to be seen as young, African, woman- it comes with a certain prejudice from the world and even members of my race- other Africans.

 

I don’t want a label on my sexuality.

I don’t want a label on my relationship status.

I don’t want a label on my employment status.

I don’t want a label based on my body size.

I don’t want a label based on the religion I adhere to.

I don’t want a label based on the place I come from.

I don’t want a label based on what I have between my thighs.

I don’t want a label based on the type of clothes I wear.

 

I don’t want a label!

I want to be seen as a human.

I want to be equal with everyone.

I feel God made us equally and if any religion preaches inequality, I refuse to take it serious.

 

Basically, I hate labels.

One thought on “I Hate Labels

Leave a Reply

