MUSING · RELIGION

On Being a Witch

04f2c2f2bc6b308fdc0ec70742e8fc09

Prima facie, the concept of witchcraft is revolting due to it being associated with the devil. Nevertheless, things shouldn’t be taken literally.

According to Encyclopaedia of Occult and Parapsychology, ‘‘witchcraft’’ derives from the Saxon wicca, sometimes translated as ‘‘wise person’’.’

I tell people, “Knowledge is knowing a concept. On the other hand, wisdom is understanding a concept and applying it constructively for your good and good of mankind.”

If you are a wise person, from that definition, you are a witch.

Witches weren’t so bad.

Women that were branded as witches in the Dark Ages were mostly healers that made use of herbs and nature in treating the sick. Let me add that midwives, who aided childbirth, were tagged witches because they made childbirth easy for women, thereby going against Yahweh’s curse on Eve in Genesis 3 VS 16.

Another angle is this: In 1 Samuel 15 VS 23, Samuel tells Saul, ‘Rebellion is as sinful as witchcraft.’

Being a lover of Syllogisms, I came up with these:

Jesus was a rebel.

I am a rebel.

Ergo, I am Christ-like.

I am a rebel.

Rebellion is as sinful as witchcraft.

Ergo, I am a witch.

 

Jesus and I are rebels.

Rebellion is as sinful as witchcraft.

Ergo, Jesus and I are …?

If you are a rebel, you, my dear, might be a witch.

The Catholic Church burned many heretics in the Dark Ages and even during Renaissance.

Joan of Arc. Photo Credit: en.wikipedia.org

Heretics were Gnostics. Gnostics were “unconventional Christians”.

Heretics defied the conventional approach to the Israelite god.

In a wry twist, the Gospel of Judas depicts Jesus laughing in derision at the fact that his disciples worshiped the “wrong god”. Jesus even referred to the entity as “evil”. At this point, I need you to understand that Gnostics read these “banished” books; not the regular gospels you have in the bible.

Their deviance garnered for them the name heretics; they were heretics because they were rebels.

Let’s apply this to modern times.

Some of us are unorthodox. The reason for this is that we have probably given it serious thought and understood that we can’t go with the herd. In so doing, we have become deviants. For every deviant act, there is a sanction in the society. For the fear of sanctions, most of us bend under the yoke of conformity. What happens to those that are daring enough to disdain conventions?

Bertrand Russell wrote, “Collective fear stimulates herd instinct, and tends to produce ferocity toward those who are not regarded as members of the herd.”

That is explicit enough.

In the Dark Ages, women that were brave enough to voice out were notorious. Being vocal wasn’t seen as a feminine quality. Being assertive was viewed as being evil. This is evident in the story of Lilith and Adam. Folklore has it that Adam and Lilith were created on the same day (Genesis 1: 27).

Here is an excerpt from Alphabet of Ben Sirach,

After God created Adam, who was alone, He said, ‘It is not good for man to be alone’ (Gen. 2:18). He then created a woman for Adam, from the earth, as He had created Adam himself, and called her Lilith. Adam and Lilith began to fight. She said, ‘I will not lie below,’ and he said, ‘I will not lie beneath you, but only on top. For you are fit only to be in the bottom position, while am to be in the superior one.’ Lilith responded, ‘We are equal to each other inasmuch as we were both created from the earth.’ But they would not listen to one another. When Lilith saw this, she pronounced the Ineffable Name and flew away into the air. Adam stood in prayer before his Creator: ‘Sovereign of the universe!’ he said, ‘the woman you gave me has run away.’ At once, the Holy One, blessed be He, sent these three angels to bring her back.

“Said the Holy One to Adam, ‘If she agrees to come back, fine. If not she must permit one hundred of her children to die every day.’ The angels left God and pursued Lilith, whom they overtook in the midst of the sea, in the mighty waters wherein the Egyptians were destined to drown. They told her God’s word, but she did not wish to return. The angels said, ‘We shall drown you in the sea.’

“‘Leave me!’ she said. ‘I was created only to cause sickness to infants. If the infant is male, I have dominion over him for eight days after his birth, and if female, for twenty days.’

From this story, we can deduce that Lilith wanted to be seen as an equal but Adam wouldn’t have it. Owing to her being assertive, she’s been vilified through the millennia. This happens when we are daring and bold enough to stand up for something that deviates from convention.

Like most women I know, I do not go with convention. It’s tiring subscribing to a belief system that doesn’t “flow” with you.

Taking into cognisance that it’s a Sisyphean task for me to be a part of the herd, I have accepted that I’m a rebel. In addition, I understand what works for me and I work with it. That’s a smart, wise way to go through life, I guess.

Like I wrote earlier,

I am a rebel.

Rebellion is as sinful as witchcraft.

Ergo, I am a witch.

“Witchcraft”, in my context, doesn’t mean chanting and dancing au naturel under the full moon to Diana. It simply means being daring enough to work with what works for me. Not being part of the crowd.

REFERENCES:

(2001) Encyclopedia of Occult and Parapsychology Volume 2, M-Z. 5th Edition. USA; Gale Group, Inc.

Excerpt of Alphabet of Ben Sirach Culled from: http://jewishchristianlit.com/Topics/Lilith/alphabet.html

Photo Credit: http://www.pinterest.com

Leave a Reply

