MUSING

My “Unpopular Opinion” on Feminism

Feminism means different things to different people.

Image result for image of smiling black girl

Personally, when I think of feminism, I think of people being the best version of themselves without trying to be equal to anyone. We flatter men when we say women are trying to be equal to men. Haha! I want to be the best I can be and I am willing to take chances. In the absence of chances I am willing to create chances. 

When I think of feminism, I think of everyone having equal rights regardless of their sexes.

I think of everyone doing what they are capable of doing regardless of their sex.

I think of us, society, getting rid of gender double-standards and adjusting our concept of gender.

I recognise society is unfair to women. In addition, I recognise women are about half of the population of society and I hold women accountable and responsible. If we want to get rid of this patriarchal system, we must be ready to play our part.

Women are not victims.

I feel women should take, not wait to be given human rights.

I feel every woman has a platform- market, school, religious centres- and we all must use these platforms to show women are capable of doing everything men are capable of doing.

Most importantly, I feel feminism is about making harmless choices.

P.S. Everyone that is against gender equality is sexist. I don’t see feminist as a label.

If “feminism” is a label, “human” must be a label.

It ‘s the human thing to be against every form of prejudice and injustice.

If we must peddle inequality, let it not be based on factors and circumstances people didn’t choose.

We didn’t choose our sex, and race.

Leave a Reply

